Skip to Content
| News

Jayapal Leads Washington Delegation in Introducing Congressional Resolution Honoring the Seattle Storm

SEATTLE — U.S. Representative Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) and U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.) led all 12 members of the Washington state congressional delegation in introducing a bipartisan, bicameral resolution congratulating the Seattle Storm on winning the 2020 Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) championship. In addition to celebrating the Storm’s fourth national championship, the resolution also honors the team’s dedication off the court—from social impact work that strengthens communities through StormCares partnerships with organizations across the greater Puget Sound region to their empowerment of girls and women throughout the state. The lawmakers also recognized the need for continued progress towards ensuring equity in men’s and women’s professional sports. 

“Our bipartisan resolution recognizes the incredible achievements of the players, coaches, fans and staff whose dedication this season helped the Seattle Storm win their fourth WNBA championship and their second in the past three years,” said the lawmakers. “We also want to recognize our state for its enthusiastic support of women’s basketball as the Storm continues to lead the way on and off the court.”

The Seattle Storm swept the Las Vegas Aces in this year’s WNBA finals after leading in points-per-game, assists-per-game and three pointers made this season. The bicameral resolution celebrates the Storm’s Breanna Steward for winning the 2020 Most Valuable Player award and Alysha Clark for winning the 2020 Defensive Player of the Year award. It also honors Sue Bird for her 17th season with the Storm as she continues to lead the WNBA in career assists and games played. Additionally, it recognizes the owners of the Storm who are just one of two all-female ownership groups in the WNBA. 

The resolution was led by U.S. Representative Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) and U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.). It was co-sponsored by U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-Wash.) and U.S. Representatives Suzan DelBene (WA-01), Rick Larsen (WA-02), Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03), Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Kim Schrier, M.D. (WA-08), Adam Smith (WA-09) and Denny Heck (WA-10). 

The full resolution is available here